Mistakes get you thinking

To output my final pieces I have decided to use Indesign (Id) and output as a PDF

I set up a template and inserted my images using the “place” command. Chose a font and I titled them.

Regretably I noticed that after processing a number of images that Id had defaulted A4.

As PDF is a vector file I wondered if I could be lazy and just get the pdf printed at A3.

After some thought, research on bulletin boards

https://forums.adobe.com Accessed on 16 December.

https://forums.adobe.com/thread/915887?start=0&tstart=0

Advice from the forum on creating PDFs for print

Any images/photographs should be in TIFF format, or maximum-quality JPG and at a resolution of 600dpi

Your artwork should be output as a (vector) Press Quality PDF (with embedded fonts and images).

Final artwork submitted to us should be created suitably for high-resolution 4-colour process lithographic printing.

Additionally dpi is defined as the number of dots in a linear inch.

Leave a Reply

